Homemade Almond Milk

I’ve done a lot of reading over the past year on eating an “anti-inflammatory” diet.  I figure I should try anything that can help ease the symptoms of my Rheumatoid Arthritis.  One thing I found out is that lactose can contribute to inflammation, so I decided I would try almond milk.  I absolutely loved it and I now use it for everything from drinking it straight to using it in my cooking and baking recipes.  The problem with almond milk is its expensive, and even if you buy “organic” almond milk it seems to have additives and preservatives.  One quart of almond milk costs around $3.  Compare that to buying dairy milk…  Would you want to pay $12 per gallon?!  Me either.

IMGP1289

It turns out making your own almond milk is super easy and a lot less expensive than buying it at the store.  As a matter of fact, I plan to explain how to turn your almond pulp into almond flour that you can use for your baking recipes in a later post.  If you’ve ever purchased almond flour before then you know how expensive it is.  I think the last time I bought it I paid about $8.99/pound in the bulk section.  I have seen the pre-packaged stuff sell for around $12/pound.  This is what I love most about this recipe…  I paid $3.99/pound for some whole almonds and I get fresh, homemade almond milk that is healthier and tastes better, plus I get about a cup of almond flour per batch of almond milk, making this a no-waste recipe.

First, you will want to soak your almonds overnight for about 8-12 hours.  If you are in a pinch and need to make it ASAP, 2-4 hours should be just fine.  Add enough water so that there is about an inch over the top of the almonds.  I used filtered water, covered the bowl with plastic wrap and stored it in the fridge overnight.

IMGP1259

After you are done soaking the almonds, strain and rinse the almonds really well then pour them into your blender.  Next, take a fine mesh strainer, place it over a large bowl (I prefer to use a mixing bowl with a pour-spout) and line the strainer with 3-4 layers of cheesecloth.

IMGP1276

Add the filtered water to the almonds in your blender and blend on high for 1-2 minutes.  The milk will be all frothy.

IMGP1281

Pour the milk into the cheesecloth-lined strainer and let it sit for 30-60 minutes.

IMGP1283

Take the strainer off of the bowl and set it aside.  If you would like to make almond flour you will want to keep the pulp that is left over in the cheese cloth.

Take a funnel and pour your almond milk into a bottle or jar and you’re done!

IMGP1288 IMGP1290

You’ll end up with around 3 cups of almond milk (possibly more if you try squeezing the pulp in the cheesecloth over the bowl) and it should keep in your fridge for about 5 days.  It’s normal for it to separate, so you will want to shake it well before every time you use it.  If it’s been a few days and you are worried that the milk has gone bad, simply smell it.  If it smells bad, then it is.

Eventually I want to experiment with flavoring and sweetening the milk.  What are some ideas you have for accomplishing this?  Let me know in the comments below!

Homemade Almond Milk

You will need:

  • Bottle or jar
  • Funnel
  • Large bowl
  • Fine mesh strainer
  • Cheesecloth
  • 1 cup almonds
  • 4 cups filtered water, plus extra for soaking

Place the almonds in a bowl and add enough water so that it is about an inch over the top of the almonds.  Cover and let soak in the fridge over night (8-12 hours).  Next, strain and rinse the almonds well and place them in a blender.  Place a fine mesh strainer over a bowl and line it with 3-4 layers of cheesecloth.  Add the 4 cups of filtered water and blend on high for 1-2 minutes.  Pour the mixture into the cheesecloth and let strain for 30-60 minutes.  Remove the strainer and set it aside, saving the pulp for later to make almond flour.  Pour the milk into a bottle or jar using the funnel.

Leave a Reply

